What You Need to Know about Washington State DUI Penalties
Information is power, but it is also a sense of relief. Knowing what to expect before you enter the courtroom can help ease this difficult process. At the Law Office of Anna Goykhman, LLC., I intend to arm you with the power of knowledge. Here’s what you need to know:
If you reside in the state of Washington and you’ve been arrested for DUI there are two proceedings:
- The civil case where you can request a DOL (Department of Licensing) hearing.
- The criminal case where your freedom can be taken away by a Washington Court of Law.
Penalties are associated with both of these proceedings.
The Washington Department of Licensing
After being convicted of a DUI, the Washington DOL can take away your driving privileges. During this time, you may be required to install an ignition interlocking device on any vehicle you drive. An ignition interlock device is a breath test machine that is wired to the ignition of your vehicle. To start you car, an alcohol-free breath sample must be provided.
In most cases, you have 30 days from your arresting date in which to request a hearing with the Washington DOL. If you miss this deadline, even by an hour, your request will be immediately denied. You will then automatically lose your diving privileges. Retaining Anna Goykhman as your attorney before turning in your hearing request is your key to a better future.
Washington State’s DUI Criminal Penalties
Depending on your specific offense and any prior DUI convictions you may have, Washington State’s DUI criminal penalties vary. For any DUI conviction, minimal jail-time is 24 hours. A DUI sentence of up to 365 days may be given by a judge. If you refused a breath test at the time of your arrest, the mandatory minimum sentence could be enhanced. If your case involves vehicular manslaughter or vehicular homicide, sentencing could be much longer.
What You Need to Know When Your Driving Privileges Are Concerned:
Washington courts can suspend or revoke drivers’ licenses for those who have been convicted of DUI. This is a part from any DOL suspension. A judge can suspend or revoke a driver’s license even if the DOL doesn’t.